Been There, Read That// July 2017

monthly-wrap-up

Been There, Read That is a monthly reading wrap up featuring everything I read last month.

What I read:

8 YA books

8 graphic novels/comic books

July was mostly a month of reading ARCs that I picked up at ALA. I’m trying to work on my massive TBR list and read as many books before they come out as possible. I focus on ARC reading a lot so I can stay current in YA and know what to buy for my library’s collection. I am also always on the hunt for books for my teen book clubs to read.

Of the 8 Young Adult ARCs I read, 4 have been published since I read them. Miles Morales by Jason Reynolds (out today) was one of my favorite reads of the month. It’s funny and relatable regardless of whether you’ve read a Miles Morales comic before. Little Monsters was my other favorite read of the month. It was a perfect mix of creepy and contemporary YA. Read my full review here. Readers who like complex family dramas and lyrical writing will enjoy Solo and The Inevitable Collision of Birdie and Bash.

4 of the ARCs I read will be coming out in the next few months. Dear Martin (out 10/17) by Nic Stone was unforgettable. The main character, Justyce, was so authentic and I hope to use it as a teen book club pick in the future. I read A Map for Wrecked Girls (out 8/15) and Little & Lion (out 8/8) super fast because I was so hooked on the characters and story. Both are about sibling relationships and the ways that struggles and secrets can change everything. I Hate Everyone But You is written by 2 IRL best friends and it will be the first book from the new Wednesday Books imprint

I had a lot of comics and graphic novels checked out this month but only got around to reading a few of them. I’m still making my way through Runaways so I can read Rainbow Rowell’s new installments. I also loved Champions and Spell on Wheels this month. Spell on Wheels has witch bffs, a vicious ex-boyfriend, and a road trip to reclaim magical items.

I also caught up on some middle grade graphic novels this month. I reread Sunny Side Up since I got Swing It, Sunny at ALA. These are great readalikes for readers of Raina Telgemeier or Roller Girl.

July was a long month of summer reading programs, hot weather, and time to read! What was your favorite book of the month?

Leave a Reply

