Been There, Read That//June 2017

monthly-wrap-up

Been There, Read That is a monthly reading wrap up featuring everything I read last month.

What I read:

7 YA books

5 graphic novels

1 Nonfiction book

 

Of the 7 YA books I read, 1 book was a library book (That Thing We Call A Heart) and 3 have been published since I read them. I was completely enthralled by Bad Romance and read it so fast. I definitely want to read more by Heather Demetrios.

I saved Saints and Misfits and That Thing We Call a Heart for the #RamadanReadathon. Saints and Misfits was my absolute favorite book of the month. You can check out my full review here. But wow, I finished it the first day of June and I’m still thinking about it. Janna is an unforgettable, funny, realistic character. So far it’s my favorite read of 2017.

 

 

Hello, Sunshine and Waste of Space are both publishing on July 11. Hello, Sunshine is perfect for fans of Going Geek by Charlotte Huang. It’s about starting over by yourself and trying to make it in Hollywood. Waste of Space was a fun read about reality tv, fake space, so much drama, and a pig named Colonel Bacon.

Warcross was AMAZING. It’s not coming out until September but it will be so worth your wait. I was really excited to have the chance to read this one (thanks to my co-librarian) and I had high hopes for it. One of my teen book clubs absolutely loved Legend by Marie Lu so I’ll be sure to order plenty of copies of Warcross for all of them to check out when this one publishes. Gamers, geeks, thrill seekers, and readers of all genres are going to be so into this book.

 

I’m a Teen Services librarian so I buy YA fiction, nonfiction, and graphic novels. I also buy all the graphic novels for the adult section so I try to read as many graphic novels as I can each month.

After seeing Wonder Woman this month, I immediately started reading the Wonder Woman rebirth comic. I also enjoyed the first volume of Runaways. I decided to pick this up after Rainbow Rowell announced she’ll be writing new issues of the comics. I can’t wait to read the rest of the volumes.

Pashmina will be coming out in October and I loved the story, mostly told in black and white with scenes of full color during fantasy escapes to India. This will be a highly requested book at the library.

june4

Finally, I read The Last Message Received. It was a really emotional read for me that I wouldn’t normally pick up because I try to avoid books that I know will give me ~feelings~. But it’s been consistently checked out since I bought it. I like to read the most checked out items so I can talk about them with teen readers and know the books that they’ve enjoyed before.

June was a busy month with the start of the Summer Reading Program, lots of events at the library, attending the ALA conference, and visiting North Carolina but I read a lot of great books. What was your favorite read of the month?

Leave a Reply

