#ALAAC17 Day 1

I’m so happy to be in Chicago for my second American Library Association Annual Conference! I went to my first ALA Annual Conference right after I graduated library school. I actually had a job interview the day after the conference was over so I was focused on finding attending sessions that I could talk about in the interview. Now it’s 2 years later and I’m a Teen Services Librarian (at the library where I had that interview 2 years ago!) I’m focused on Teen Services and YA books during this conference.

I was lined up and ready to go as soon as the exhibits opened on Friday night. I talked to my LIS graduate school, several database vendors that my library uses, and, of course, the publishers! Here’s my instagram story post about what I got on day 1!

 

The Burning Girl by Claire Messud Books about female friendships are basically my wheelhouse. I will read just about any book that promises to follow friends throughout several years.

The Witch Boy by Molly Ostertag This graphic novel from Scholastic is about a family where girls grow up to be witches and boys are shapeshifters. Asher still hasn’t begun shapeshifting and he is still really into witchcraft when he turns 13. I’m interested to read this one soon!

 

The Child Finder by Rene Denfeld Child disappearance, private investigators, and lots of small town mysteries. This isn’t my type of book but I know my mom will like it and I promised I’d get her some books.

Lumberjanes: Unicorn Power by Mariko Tamaki and Brooke Allen I absolutely love the Lumberjanes comics and I’m excited about this novelization especially since I really like Mariko’s previous work.

Dear Martin by Nic Stone I was really hoping to get a copy of this during ALA and it ended up being the first book I grabbed. This book has amazing reviews and I can’t wait to read it. The Penguin Random House team member I talked to was so into this book and it made me even more excited to get it.

 

Midnight at the Electric by Jodi Lynn Anderson This one was one of the Friday night hardback giveaways. I just ordered this for my library and I’ll probably read this one and use it as a giveaway for one of my Teen Book Clubs

Meet Cute (stories by multiple authors) I got a copy of this from HMH Teen a few weeks ago and I couldn’t resist picking up another one to share with my one of my teen book clubs. They love so many of these authors!

Prince in Disguise by Stephanie Kate Strohm I absolutely love a story about a prince and an average girl (or guy) that he falls for. I loved The Royal We and I’m dying to read Romancing the Throne so I kind of gasped when I saw this giveaway. I might save it for cozy winter reading–if I can wait that long.

 

Day 1 also included some amazing garlic and pepperoni deep dish pizza. I miss it already.

If There’s No Tomorrow by Jennifer L. Armentrout I’m always intrigued by those books that have a “one moment ruins everything” plot. Not a big fan of this cover though, it’s not very memorable but maybe the final cover is different?

Top Ten by Katie Cotugno After becoming obsessed with Fireworks by Cotugno, I am determined to read more of her books. I’ve owned How to Love for years now but never got around to reading it. I know I’ll be reading this one soon!

It was a super successful first night! What books did you grab if you were there? Check back for a day 2 round up!

 

Leave a Reply

