Been There, Read That//May 2017

monthly-wrap-up

Been There, Read That is a monthly reading wrap up featuring everything I read last month.

What I read:

9 YA books

3 graphic novels

1 Adult fiction

Of the 9 YA books I read in May, 5 were finished copies. I ended up loving every one of them. I couldn’t put Queens of Geek or Fireworks down. I read them both as fast as possible and I’m still thinking about them. I loved the Geek Con setting and best friend main characters in Queens of Geek. And Fireworks was a 90s girl’s dream come true–it had girl groups, bffs, music, choreography, and a cute romance. Gem & Dixie was my first Sara Zarr book and it won’t be my last. I read Conviction for a book club and ended up getting really wrapped up in the story. Finally, Meg Cabot is an all-time favorite. Avalon High made me actually care about Arthurian legends.

The other 4 YA books I read were ARCs and they were fabulous! When Dimple Met Rishi was my favorite read of the month. It started as my most anticipated read of the year and it didn’t disappoint. I immediately pre-ordered a finished copy as soon as I finished the ARC. Sarah Dessen has been one of my favorite authors since I was in middle school, so I was really excited to have the chance to read her new book. I got completely wrapped up in the world of wedding planning and loved the main character, Louna. It publishes on June 6. I Believe in a Thing Called Love was delightful and you can check out my full review here. Be True To Me is going to be a perfect summer read! Find it on June 13.

Saga Volume 7 made me cry. SO. MANY. TEARS. Thanks a lot Saga. Scott Westerfeld’s Spill Zone was super creepy and has been consistently checked out from my library since it hit the shelves.

may8

Ella Minnow Pea was one of my high school teen book club’s book selection for the month of May. Once again, this book club has challenged me to pick up so many books that I would not have read otherwise. I really enjoyed the unique premise of this book and I always love books told in letters.

What was your favorite read of the month?

Leave a Reply

