Booktalk: When Dimple Met Rishi

Copy of book review

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon is out today! This book was easily my most anticipated book of the year. I even stood in line for almost 2 hours to get an ARC of it at Yallwest. I immediately started reading it and it exceeded my, very high, expectations. I love YA romances and this one perfectly captures those first swoony, heart eyes feelings. This diverse, own voices book  features Indian characters falling in love. Dimple and Rishi have very different experiences with their cultures, their parents, and their expectations of themselves. Throughout the book they learn about each other but they also discover how to be true to themselves.

I’m going to booktalk this one at all my book clubs and school visits because I know readers of Rainbow Rowell, Sarah Dessen, and Jenny Han will obsess over Dimple and Rishi.

6ed092fe24e09dfd8a8af4af3b21e1e8-w204@1x.jpg Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Readalikes: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han, The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon, The New Guy (And Other Senior Year Distractions) by Amy Spalding, Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Dimple Shah is ready for the next chapter of her life. She’s heading to college and getting away from Mamma’s nagging about makeup and finding an “Ideal Indian Husband.” Her parents have even agreed to give her some early freedom this summer to attend Insomnia Con, a camp for aspiring web developers. Everything is working perfectly according to plan.

Rishi Patel, a strict rule follower, is also being sent to Insomnia Con by his parents. But he’s not going because of a deep desire to be a web-developer–he’s going to meet and romance his future wife. Dimple, the intended bride, has no idea her parents have arranged this future marriage. Dimple and Rishi have a not-so-cute meet-cute, complete with an awkward run-in and an ice coffee in the face.  Dimple tries to avoid Rishi as much as possible but they’re partnered up and they have to learn to work and Bollywood dance together to win Insomnia Con. Dimple and Rishi will make you laugh, swoon, and want to dance.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon is out today! Add it to your Goodreads shelf and start reading it today!

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Booktalk: When Dimple Met Rishi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s