Been There, Read That//April 2017

monthly-wrap-up

Been There, Read That is a monthly reading wrap up featuring everything I read last month.

What I Read:

8 YA Books

2 Middle Grade

1 Non-fiction

5 Graphic Novels

Out of the 8 YA books I read this month, 5 of them were advance reader’s copies. I was so excited to get the chance to read Ramona Blue and Girl Out of Water before they come out in May. They ended up being my favorite reads of the month. Ramona and Anise were absolutely unforgettable main characters that I connected to instantly. I reread Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda and Everything, Everything for my teen book club this month. The teen members loved Simon and I can’t wait to hear their thoughts on Everything, Everything. We’re all going to go see the movie together when it comes out.

I read The Clockwork Three for another teen book club that I do at a local high school. This book, a bulky, complicated, 400 page middle grade novel, was hard for me to get through. The teen members, the high school librarian, and the high school English teacher who participate in our club also had trouble with this book. But, we had a lot of fun dissecting it and talking about why we hated it so much!

Fun fact about me: I’m a huge BSC fan and collector! I read so many of the books as a kid but I never read them in order. I’ve been slowly working on reading them in order and I realized that I hadn’t read one yet in 2017. I love this one because it focuses on Dawn and Mary-Anne finally becoming step-sisters (Mary Anne is my fav BSC character.) Hopefully I’ll make more progress on my quest to read all the BSC books in order and you’ll see more of these books in my monthly reading wrap up.

I also read an advance copy of Erin Chack’s essays about growing up, college, surviving cancer, and road trips. It definitely made me laugh and cringe about my own awkward middle and high school memories.

Goldie Vance was adorable, diverse, and downright spunky. I can’t wait to read more of it. I also finally got to read California Dreamin’ and I hope to see more stories like this that feature cool women who need their stories told.

 

Leave a Reply

