Been There, Read That//March 2017

monthly-wrap-up

Been There, Read That is a monthly reading wrap up featuring everything I read last month.

I love March–it’s my birthday month and the weather is always my favorite mix of wintery, windy, and sometimes sunny. I read 15 books this month and loved most of them. I also finally started reading books from NetGalley. I’ve been a member of NetGalley for years but didn’t really like reading e-books that much in the past. But I read several e-galleys this month.

What I Read: 

8 YA Books

1 Middle Grade

2 Adult Fiction

4 Graphic novels

Of the 8 YA books I read, 7 were ARCs. Geekerella and The Upside of Unrequited were my favorite reads this month. I read Geekerella in a day and just adored it. I even ordered the special edition Geekerella FanMail box because I loved it so much. I try to critically read ARCs with my library collection and teen patrons in mind.  Upside was diverse, body-positive, and just SO GOOD. My Teen Book Club is currently reading Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda and I wanted to read Upside before our meeting so I could booktalk it and get them excited about Becky’s next book.

I tried to devote this month to working on my ARC TBR pile but I had to put them on hold when I finally got Piecing Me Together. It was phenomenal and a great readalike for The Hate U Give and The Education of Margot Sanchez. Books like Piecing Me Together are important because they recognize the struggles that teens face but also highlight the power that teens have to change things in their communities. I’ll add Piecing Me Together to my regular booktalks (if it’s ever on the shelf, it’s been checked out since I returned it).

This month I mostly read graphic novels before bed. I finally read American Born Chinese after meaning to for years. I’ve loved several of Gene’s other books but just never got around to this one. I was also super excited to read Real Friends by Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham. It’s considered a middle grade graphic novel but it’s going to have wide appeal for anyone who knows what it’s like to feel left out.

I mostly read YA books now that I’m a Teen Services Librarian but I’ll always love middle grade. I read a lovely middle grade book, Forget Me Not,  about a girl with Tourette syndrome by an author with Tourette syndrome. The two POV’s were written with verse and prose and I’ll read just about any novel written in verse. One of my Teen Book Clubs chose The Illustrated Man for their March book and we had some interesting discussions about space, the future, and lions. Finally, The Most Dangerous Place on Earth could work as an adult fiction or YA fiction pick. It was a fast read.

 

My favorite read of the month was The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli (releasing on April 11, pre-order here .) What was your favorite book of the month?

Leave a Reply

